Husbands: Love and lies in La-La Land - Mo Fanning Author

Husbands: Love and lies in La-La Land

A gripping, dark romantic comedy, Husbands is an entertaining and fast-paced peek into the not-so-bright lights of Hollywood…

In Hollywood, every pavement star tells a story. Not all of them shine.

Wannabe actor Kyle Macdonald is down on his luck. Working as a supply teacher in an inner-city Birmingham school, he’s single again at twenty-eight, and sleeping in his childhood bedroom beneath a ‘Hard Candy’ Madonna poster.

He gets a call claiming he drunkenly married top Hollywood director Aaron Biedermeier in Vegas six years ago. Rather than panic, he sees a golden ticket to fame and the life he’s always fantasised about.

But the glamourous veneer of Los Angeles – non-stop sunshine, celebrity actors and exclusive hotel suites – starts to crack, revealing a darker, corrupt underbelly to La-La Land. Kyle digs deeper into his so-called husband’s past, unearthing disturbing allegations of abuse and underage sex parties. With the help of Biedermeier’s fiancé, actor Noah Winters, he embarks on a cross-country race to unravel the mystery and expose the truth – finding love along the way. 

Fanning’s prose and dialogue are crisp, brisk, and incisive, and the characterization is strong.”
PUBLISHERS’ WEEKLY

“Punchy writing and appealing characters.”
KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Heart-mangling with LOL moments. I thoroughly enjoyed this dark, romantic road trip.”
TINA BAKER – bestselling author and TV personality

“A head-snapping dive into a twisted and sexy tale of ambition, revenge and murder set against a sun-bleached tear-stained postcard sent postage-due from the heart of Hollywood Babylon.”
JOSH LANYON, award-winning author of the Gay Mystery novels

Perfect for fans of Jane Fallon, Marian Keyes, Beth O’Leary and Taylor Jenkins Reid, Mo Fanning writes deep character-driven stories that entertain and make readers think. Fanning redefines LGBTQ romantic comedy by creating stories that just so happen to contain ‘queer’ characters. His comedic fiction is inspired by life’s rich tapestry, delving into darker themes drawn from his own experience including alcoholism, mental illness and prejudice. Husbands is a page-turning thriller that any reader will be able to engage with and enjoy.

Husbands is available from 6 June 2024

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop